AM I STUPID?

“Yes I’m stupid, I am stupid, truly stupid” those were the provocative sentence I was asked to repeat by the Chairman of an I.T company (I worked for sometimes in 2003); owing to a mistake I made on a proposal he asked me to write.
Few of my colleagues that were present laughed and joked about it. I left the scene in tears; I just couldn’t bear it. I scribbled my resignation letter and tendered it few months after. I could not but emphasis that my decision was “final and irrevocable”.
I went back to school to study Visual Arts & Creative Design, my passion of yester years!! It was with so much elation I spent my evenings at the shoemaker’s workshop learning.
That experience fired me up like a moon bound rocket and I’ve never looked back since….

Do u know what it feels like for the American ambassador to Nigeria, Vice President of the Western Union, dignitaries from West Africa, 12 Bank executives and over 100 entrepreneurs from African countries to give “Me” a standing ovation? This was my lot at an event in Lagos few years after the shameful incident with my boss. The accolade was overwhelming, I must say!! I stepped down from the podium into the excited hands of reporters from 3 TV stations who wanted to interview and catch a glimpse of me.

I could not help but giggle endlessly and one of the interviewers asked why I was smiling and I told her “I am STUPID”. Gratefully recounting the incident that propelled me!

Here’s the moral of the story is if u don’t build your dreams some else will hire you to build theirs. Don’t let people make you feel inadequate.
Carve a niche for yourself and plunge yourself into achieving those dreams…
Never let go of those dreams cos they are beautiful and they are YOURS.

Remember, the future only belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams!

Omeiza Bamidele Israel
C.E.O
Bambata Footwears and Accessories
Mob: +2348099127262
PIN: 30fca8dc

10 thoughts on “AM I STUPID?

  1. Very nice and inspiring esp for someone like myself too. I won’t give up my dreams of “Rennie’s attractions” despite being a veterinary Doctor. Thanx for this piece!

  2. Nice 1! If you don’t give up on your dream then the sky is not just your limit it’s a spring board. Weldon Bambata

  3. Your story is reali touchin sir!!! And lyk a ripple effect, uv touched lives subtly by sharing it. Bambata, may your paths be upward and forward. This is the least that men shall see of u! Dreams do come true.

  4. Your story is reali touchin sir!!! And lyk a ripple effect, uv touched lives subtly by sharing it.
    Bambata, may your paths be upward and forward. This is the least that men shall see of u!
    Dreams do come true. CRADLE & VOICES, here I come!!

  5. You were there @ dat time to learn HOW NOT TO BE STUPID afterall MERLIN wasn’t STUPID#smile#!!…nobody will live ur dream for u#GBAM#

  6. U̶̲̥̅̊ said I̶̲̥̅̊t̶̲̥̅̊ Åℓℓ, B without dreams people will J̶̲̥̅̊u̶̲̥̅̊ƨ̣̣̣̇̇̇̇τ̣̣̥ βε̲̣ hopeless αη∂ †ђξ part U̶̲̥̅̊ played by being hardworking cannot βε̲̣ excluded from ƔU̶̲̥̅̊я success story! Cheers Bambata αη∂ more power †̥ ƔU̶̲̥̅̊я efforts IJN

  7. U̶̲̥̅̊ said I̶̲̥̅̊t̶̲̥̅̊ Åℓℓ, B without dreams people will J̶̲̥̅̊u̶̲̥̅̊ƨ̣̣̣̇̇̇̇τ̣̣̥ βε̲̣ hopeless αη∂ people like us can benefit from ƔU̶̲̥̅̊я touch αη∂ †ђξ part U̶̲̥̅̊ played by being hardworking cannot βε̲̣ excluded from ƔU̶̲̥̅̊я success story! Cheers Bambata αη∂ more power †̥ ƔU̶̲̥̅̊я efforts IJN

Leave a Reply

