My Female Persuasion

transgen

I never thought I would give advice to a transgender woman. I never thought I would hear a first hand account of the struggles in the life of a transgender woman – or have any reason to write about one.

I was in Brooklyn the other night, so I decided to go visit my mother. She asked me to stop and get her a pack of Salem cigarettes on my way. As soon as I got in the corner store, I recognized “Shanaya” (name changed). She used to live on the first floor of my mother’s building — as a man.

I greeted her with a peck on the cheek. “Heyyy, how you doing? My mother sent you to the store?” Yes, she had. So we left the store – her with a turkey and cheese hero, a 40-ounce of Colt 45, and carton of fruit punch. Me…

View original post 993 more words

Leave a Reply

